Book Review: Keepsakes: Recipes, Mementos and Miscellany

Keepsakes: Recipes, Mementos and Miscellany by Frances Hansen 


“Keepsakes is unlike any other cookbook – it is a handmade, visual feast. Containing the well-loved recipes collected by Frances over time from family and friends, each spread is an artwork in itself. This is a highly personal scrapbook of memories, recipes and collected artifacts – with proven recipes that have been finessed over time and generations. This book is a study of collections; collected recipes and collected images – it takes the old and reworks them into something vibrant and new.”

 

 

I bought this book because it is exactly what I am trying to create myself personally, and when I saw it I was so pleased that my idea could work!! Also … what I had in mind for some of the Motherhood projects was similiar and so when I bought ‘Keepsakes’ it was inspiring.

The first thing you will notice is the hardcover, which is embossed and simply beautiful. But what will strike you are the gorgeous pages, thick yet soft, and with a gorgeous cut edge – very striking!
I personally didnt get excited about the recipes – Im not sure if thats because I have seen so many recipes now or if its because I was simply floored by the beauty of this book (I suspect the latter!). But there were a few souviners that bought back childhood memories and loads of room to paste in your own special family recipes.

I bought this as an item of beauty, a scrapbook. The recipes are really simple and I’m sure you will find a few to treasure and pass on! There are lots of family staples and baking.
I highly reccomend this book as a gift for a wedding, best friend, mother, special birthday etc. Or treat yourself!

Available from bookstores and online for $59.99.

This and Motherhood: In My Kitchen would be two recipe books to treasure, add your own family recipes and make these recipe books heirlooms for years to come!

Mum’s Pavlova:
1. Separate 4 eggs (make sure there is no yolk, and are at room temperature).
2. Beat egg whites until stiff. Slowly add 1 cup castor sugar, 1 tblsp water, 1 tsp vanilla and 1 tsp vinegar.
3. With a spatula, quickly pile mixture onto greased oven tray. Place in oven heated up to 150 degrees for one hour. Turn oven off and leave there to cool.
4. Decorate with whipped cream and fruit.

Leave a Reply

