MOL: Pumpkin, Feta & Spinach Muffins

Absolutely love when the house is filled with the smell of baking šŸ™‚ So homely and its always such a treat to eat homebaked goodies!!

50s bake

Now I have a disclaimer to make here! I am not a baker! I am not one of those gifted people who can effortlessly bake up a storm, resulting in scrumptious goodies, and enjoy it!

This could be because I hate being told what to do and yep, to me, a recipe is something I simply cannot, on principle, follow šŸ˜›
(Did someone say, STUBBORN?)
Or it could be because I’d rather be chucking together yummy main meals, where I can experiment and play.

Anyway – I bake every weekend simply because I need to feed my family good healthy food, and baking is economic, I control the ingredients, and it goes further.
Now while we can come up with an argument that with today’s prices of flour, butter, price of power to run oven and so on, baking may not be cheaper straight out, but I do believe that my money goes further because I get a better yield than if I bought the same products. On top of that, I am controlling the ingredients. I can choose to use organic stoneground flour, natural sweeteners, home-dehydrated fruit etc.

So I’m not this amazing supermum that has a clean apron while she effortlessly mixes endless cupcakes! Instead, I’m wiping batter from the walls where I accidentally turned the mixer on too high, I have butter smeared on the kitchen floor, the kids are licking the spatulas, and occasionally my creations fail/burn/melt/are thrown to the chickens.

When they do work, I divide my efforts into Tupperware (have I ever told you how much I love Tupperware????) and freeze. This makes it a breeze during the week to get out what I need for lunchboxes (it defrosts by lunchtime) and it means noone can scoff it all from the pantry!

Anyway, here is a recipe I came up with this morning for pumpkin, feta and spinach muffins! I havent tested them on the kids, but I know they’ll make a fantastic addition to my own lunches this week!!!

100gm softened butter
1/2 cup brown sugar or sweetener
2 eggs
2 cups mashed cooked pumpkin
1 and 1/2 cups of flour
2 teaspoons of baking powder
1 cup of finely chopped spinach or silverbeet
1/2 pack of feta, chopped into cubes
1 teaspoon of baking soda
1/2 cup milk

Cream the butter and sugar, add eggs and pumpkin and mix well. Add flour, baking powder, spinach, feta, and mix again. Dissolve baking soda into warm milk and add to mixture, gently fold in, then divide between greased muffin tins or patty cases. Bake approx 15-20 minutes at 180 degree or until cooked through/spring back.

One thought on “MOL: Pumpkin, Feta & Spinach Muffins

Leave a Reply

