Introducing: Imagination Doors

When the fairies come to play…. and goblins make magic…. and pixies leave special treats…

imag3

Ooooh, the wonder of childhood – the amazing imaginations that allow children to believe in things that we cant see – because seeing is not always believing!!

I decided to inject a little magic into our home. We’d become caught into a bit of a negative space, as happens every now and then. I dont know about you, but occasionally we all feel a bit timag1ired and run down, mama and papa feel stressed, the kids might be a bit of colour or extra busy at school… and it feels like we’re all fighting, yelling and just ‘surviving’. Anyway, this happened at the end of this Summer and I was keen to bring fun back to our family.

I have had a desire for a fairy door for sometime! I have ‘liked’ Imagination doors on facebook (www.facebook.com/imaginationfairydoors) and one popped up that appealed to me!!!! It was one directed at the interests of our boys, though, so I requested a pixie door be made in softer colours to appeal to me (i’m a real pink lover!) and my daughter.

Imagination Doors makes most doors to order – so you tell them the colour, style, little token on the door etc… and this talented couple gets busy! You don’t pay until you have seen the amazing creation they have come up with!

Soooo…. one day these doors appeared into our house!! I used blu tack to attach them (I ran out of Command strips!). One is located above our front door, and the other is above an internal door (I had put them lower but I know my children have sticky fingers 😛 !!).
The kids, when they noticed, were buzzing with excitement! A few days later, ‘snow’ appeared around both doors. And they may or may not find lollipops attached to the doors tomorrow morning 🙂

I had initially hoped to use the doors to introduce rewards for special achievements (like the Principals Award one child received last week, or when a child masters a tricky spelling word, or a child makes their bed without being asked). But without a doubt, the concept of magic needs no prerequisite, no task or chore, no conditions…. and so I have abandoned that idea, and intend to invoke a little magic whenever we need a boost in our family… and sometimes it might just be at a celebration of achievement, because after all… those fairies are watching!!!

 

http://www.imaginationdoors.co.nz – (and http://www.stuff.co.nz/dominion-post/capital-life/9143798/Fairy-doors-find-big-market)

http://www.estellarose.co.nz

http://felt.co.nz/search/all/fairy+door

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

